The Summer school on Numerical Analysis of nonlinear PDEs will take place in Leipzig in July 2023.

Speakers: Sören Bartels (U Freiburg) and Max Jensen (UCL, London)

Dates: 19.-21. July 2023 (pre-school on 18.07.2023)

Location: U Leipzig, Felix-Klein-Hörsaal

Organizers: Dietmar Gallistl (U Jena), Mira Schedensack (U Leipzig)


The target audience are advanced Master students, doctoral students, and postdocs with basic knowledge on elliptic PDEs and finite element analysis. We offer a brief refresher course (pre-school) on the day before the actual summer school starts.

Registration: Registration is free but mandatory. Please write an e-mail to NA-summerschool-2023(at) until 15. June 2023 to register for the event. We can offer limited financial support, which you can apply for by sending a brief letter of motivation and your CV (preferably before 15 April 2023).

The venue is located in the city centre with many hotels within walking distance.

The thematic focus of the summer school is on the numerical analysis of nonlinear, mainly stationary, partial differential equations. The speakers will present lectures on the following topics:

Sören Bartels:
Error estimates for finite element discretizations of nonsmooth minimization problems

Max Jensen:
Discretization of fully nonlinear elliptic PDEs



Preliminary schedule (to be confirmed)

Tue 18. July 2023
13:00-14:30 pre-school
15:00-16:30 pre-school

Wed 19. July 2023
9:00-10:30 lecture
11:00-12:30 lecture
14:30-16:00 lecture

Thu 20. July 2023
9:00-10:30 lecture
11:00-12:30 lecture
14:00- excursion

Fri 21. July 2023
9:00-10:30 lecture
11:00-12:30 lecture
12:30 closing

Logo SPP 1748
Logo ERC